Botanical Stitch

After doing botanical drawing, we did free machine embroidery in the stitch workshop. I have done this before but never been taught properly, I just taught myself. I feel that after being shown how to free machine properly, my samples are much better than those I have done previously. Below I have inserted photos of two samples I stitched based on flowers that I drew.

DSCN2816
Free Machine Embroidery (and hand threads on the bobbin) on Dissolvable Fabric – I found this quite difficult to stitch because of the small flowers, but I think the detail I tried to include has worked well.
DSCN2821
Free Machine Embroidery (and hand threads on the bobbin) based on a drawing from our time in the National Museum of Wales – I am really pleased with this sample, I really like the change in colour on the petals, and the gold stamen are the perfect colour to go with both the pink thread and the blue fabric. I think it needs a little bit more stitch on it as there are quite a few gaps in the stitches.
Leave a Reply

