Using The Dye Baths For The First Time

I was excited to use the dye baths, and see what results would come from them. The first technique we were taught was blocking out dye from certain areas. To do this, you have to fold the fabric up, then use two blocks of the same shape either side of the fabric and clamp them. When the fabric is taken out of the bath and the blocks taken off, the area that was blocked remains the original colour. Below is a photo of one of the samples I made using this technique.

hanky
After the fabric had dried, I decided I wanted to stitch into it to add detail. I simply stitched inside the squares using different stitches on the machine. It looks good, and I am pleased with the colours that I chose. However I think it would have worked better on a different fabric, as this one is very thin and stretched when I put it in an embroidery hoop, causing the squares to be slightly misshapen.
Leave a Reply

