Up-Cycling Denim

For the first two weeks of our field module, we were given a brief within our subject to up cycle a pair of jeans. I had no problem finding a pair as I own so many, with lots that I don’t even wear anymore! At first I struggled to find something to do and created this: 
I enjoyed making this but later realised that it didn’t really have any direction and I couldn’t think how I would move on from this.

After talking to my tutor, a theme of seas came about; inspired by the ‘Living Seas’ seminar I attended during the ‘Future Generations’ conference. I did a few samples using some of the stitch techniques I have learnt at university so far.

 I spoke to my tutor again, who gave me some advice on where to go with the remaining denim I had, as I still wasn’t completely sure. I am now in the process of making a wall hanging, with ocean and beach imagery.

Leave a Reply

