Using Artboards in Illustrator

When creating patterns in Illustrator, I learnt how to use multiple art boards. This is really useful, because it enables me to see the development in my designs all in the same document. At the start of the project, I was opening a new document for every new design, which was a hassle because I created lots of documents within a very short space of time, making it difficult to find them. Below are some screenshots that show how I used art boards. Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 19.36.47In my earlier designs, I just used the art boards to create different designs using the same or similar devices. This definitely helps because when you have exhausted all ideas, you can compare them all in the same place and decide which works the best.Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 19.36.35Later on, I started experimenting with different colour ways of the same design, or just changing one device in a design, as you can see in the screenshot above. Sometimes I still forget to create a new art board for a new idea, and the old design disappears because I change it to a new one, but luckily this is becoming a less common occurrence. I love art boards and I wish they existed in Photoshop! I struggled without them when creating my two Photoshop designs after becoming used to Illustrator.

Leave a Reply

