Digital Brief Summary

When we were first given the brief for this term, I was a bit intimidated by it, because I only had small knowledge of Photoshop and none of Illustrator. It was daunting to say the least! A few days in, and I started to get back into the swing of using Photoshop and started to understand and enjoy Illustrator.

The workshops with Steve definitely assisted in my learning, as well as watching youtube tutorials in my spare time. I also learnt a lot when we were sat as a group in the Graphics room, just by seeing other people’s work and asking how they’d done it. As time went on, I was enjoying making patterns more and more as my skills grew, and I’m looking forward to learning even more in the near future.

I would like to spend more time in Photoshop, because I realised towards the end of the project that I’d mainly worked in Illustrator, and mostly ignored Photoshop after making my mood and colour boards. I think this is because I find Illustrator much easier when making patterns, because it is vector based rather than pixel based. However, I managed to create some brilliant designs in Photoshop when I came to do it.

Looking back, I know that I have really enjoyed this project, despite some (inevitable) struggles at the start. I am very pleased and proud of my final six designs, which to me seem impressive considering the fact that I had no clue what I was doing six weeks ago! I can’t wait to do more digital work, and will definitely be learning more and playing with both Photoshop and Illustrator over the summer.

Leave a Reply

