Home Truths – My theme

For this project, I have decided to use how I have lived in a number of places as my theme. I have lived in six houses throughout my childhood and teenage years, and would like to represent each place. The first couple of houses I have little to no memory of, I only know of them from photos my parents have shown me. I would like to find a way of representing these blurred memories on my plates.

I think I will most likely use underglaze painting, as this worked really well in the workshop; but I may explore other techniques such as decalle transfer before making my final decision.

Below is a slideshow of all the houses I have lived in (up until I moved to Cardiff for university!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks to Google Maps (street view) for the images of the houses in Poole, Ferndown, and Cambridge – I either couldn’t find pictures or they weren’t clear/of the whole front.

Leave a Reply

