Chelsea Harbour Interior Showrooms

On Thursday, the whole Level 5 cohort took a trip down to London, primarily to visit Chelsea Harbour Interior Showrooms. The building itself was beautiful, comprised of three atriums with the showrooms around the edges over multiple floors.

I found myself particularly drawn to fabrics with stitch on them, because I enjoy texture. I had forgotten how much I like to feel fabrics! I spent a lot of time making oohs and aahs at the feel of materials throughout the day. The first things I saw which I loved were the cushions pictured below – I loved the colours and style of imagery, and could imagine owning this pair!

Something I saw a lot of was textured carpets/rugs, where the height of the carpet varies to create interesting shapes and shadows, and they were mostly geometric. I also really loved this feather covered wall!

These fabrics really reminded me of Josef Frank’s designs, with the bright, contrasting colours!

90ABA7D7-0D53-45BA-92DB-B728A414244C

I loved both of these fabrics, and I think the one with the pink background was my favourite of the whole day! I loved how the pattern was created with a straight stitch, just up and down, creating a rough outline to the motifs – as well as adoring the colours. I like the floral fabric because of all the embroidery stitches used – it would have never occurred to me to design something using only hand stitching.

7B6AD5AF-5744-49D1-91DA-8B20F91E09E9BD775789-42C7-4A4B-A03D-D1E4235B3DE5

 

 

 

 

 

The orange and blue cushions stood out to me because of the colours – they work well alongside the designs, as well as the trims (which I am really attracted to!). I loved the floral cushions, as they reminded me of cross stitch, which is becoming popular again! It also reminded me of a pixelated image, a simplified version of a picture – but not normally done on purpose! I really wanted to get myself one of these!

I also came across these designs, from a collection called ‘Jaipur’. It reminded me of my time in Jaipur during the second field module, and I think the essence of Jaipur was captured within the collection.

I fell in love with this chair! The foiling combined with the blue teal colour are to die for – there were so many things at the showrooms I wanted to buy!

75F2A26E-4E9C-419A-9835-505DBB6CB1A4

I think the day at the Chelsea Harbour Interior Showrooms was useful for me, as it made me remember what I enjoy about textiles, as well as seeing current trends and how collections are put together. I think it has informed and inspired some of my future work too!

Leave a Reply

